2016 Levy County Election Information

Presidential Preference	Primary	<u>General</u>
March 15, 2016	August 30, 2016	November 8, 2016

All offices on this sheet, if contested, will be on a 2016 ballot in Levy County.

Candidates for offices listed below qualify and file campaign reports with the Supervisor of Elections, Levy County, 421 S. Court Street

Bronson, FL 32621 (352)486-5163

Levy County Constitutional Offices: 4 year terms; partisan, qualifying fee for Clerk of Court, Property Appraiser, School Superintendent and Tax Collector = \$6,248.64; non-partisan = \$4,165.76; annual salary = \$104,144; partisan, qualifying fee for Sheriff = \$6,785.64; non-partisan = \$4,523.76; annual salary = \$113,094; partisan, qualifying fee for Supervisor of Elections = \$5,181.42; non-partisan = \$3,454.28; annual salary = \$86,357. Candidate must reside within district at time of qualifying. Petition submission deadline is May 23, 2016 before noon. Takes office 1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in January (*The Superintendent of Schools takes office 2nd Tuesday after General Election).

<u>Seat</u>	<u>Incumbent</u>	Qualifying Dates	# of Petitions
Clerk of Court	Danny Shipp	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
Property Appraiser	Osborn Barker	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
Sheriff	Bobby McCallum	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
Super. of Schools	Bob Hastings	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
Supervisor of Elects.	Tammy Jones	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
Tax Collector	Linda Fugate	Noon, June $20 - 24$, 2016	259

<u>County Commissioner:</u> 4 year terms; partisan, qualifying fee = \$2,118.60; non-partisan = \$1,412.40; annual salary = \$35,310. Elected at large. Candidate must reside within district at time of election. Petition submission deadline is May 23, 2016 before noon. Takes office 2^{nd} Tuesday after General Election.

<u>Seat</u>	<u>Incumbent</u>	Qualifying Dates	# of Petitions
District 1	John Meeks	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
District 3	Mike Joyner	Noon, June $20 - 24$, 2016	259
District 5	Danny Stevens	Noon, June $20 - 24$, 2016	259

<u>School Board Member:</u> 4 year terms; non-partisan; qualifying fee = \$1,102.56 (4% of salary); annual salary = \$27,564. Elected at large. Candidate must reside within district at time of qualifying. Petition submission deadline is May 23, 2016 before noon. Takes office 2^{nd} Tuesday after General Election.

<u>Seat</u>	<u>Incumbent</u>	Qualifying Dates	# of Petitions
District 2	Chris Cowart	Noon, June 20 – 24, 2016	259
District 3	Brad Etheridge	Noon, June $20 - 24$, 2016	259
District 4	Paige Brookins	Noon, June $20 - 24$, 2016	259

Candidate Calendar of Reporting Dates: 2015 Reporting Dates

Cover Period	Report Code	Due Date
12/01/14 - 12/31/14	2014 M12	01/12/15
01/01/15 - 01/31/15	2015 M1	02/10/15
02/01/15 - 02/28/15	2015 M2	03/10/15
03/01/15 - 03/31/15	2015 M3	04/10/15
04/01/15 - 04/30/15	2015 M4	05/11/15
05/01/15 - 05/31/15	2015 M5	06/10/15
06/01/15 - 06/ 30/15	2015 M6	07/10/15
01/01/14 - 12/31/14	2015 MUC*	06/30/15
07/01/15 - 07/31/15	2015 M7	08/10/15
08/01/15 - 08/31/15	2015 M8	09/10/15
09/01/15 - 09/30/15	2015 M9	10/13/15
10/01/15 - 10/31/15	2015 M10	11/10/15
11/01/15 - 11/30/15	2015 M11	12/10/15
12/01/15 - 12/31/15	2015 M12	01/11/16

Basic Candidate Information:

Filing is the first step in becoming a candidate (106.021 F.S.). Filing allows you to solicit contributions and make expenditures for your campaign and can occur at any time. You must complete an Appointment of Treasurer form and file with the Elections Office **prior to opening your campaign depository.** The Appointment of Treasurer form states:

- 1. The office you are running for (including seat #).
- 2. Your political party affiliation.
- 3. What bank your campaign account will be in.
- 4. Who your treasurer is (can be yourself).

After filing, your campaign must submit treasurer's reports. Reports must be filed on the 10th day following the end of each calendar month from the time the campaign treasurer is appointed. Following the last day of qualifying, reports must be filed on the 60th day immediately preceding the Primary Election, and biweekly on each Friday thereafter through and including the 4th day immediately preceding the General Election, with additional reports due the 25th and 11th days before the Primary and General Elections. Candidates must file a termination report within 90 days after the date the candidate becomes unopposed, eliminated, withdrawn or elected to office (106.06(b)(c), F.S). Additionally, a candidate has 10 days from the date he or she files the Appointment of Treasurer to execute a DS-DE 84 "Statement of Candidate" (106.023, F.S.). Judicial candidates must also turn in a DS-DE 83, "Statement of Candidate for Judicial Office."

Petitioning is the alternative method to payment of the qualifying fee. (99.095, 99.0955, 99.096, 99.09651 and 99.097 F.S.)

Petitions:

- 1. Must be properly completed and signed by at least 1% of voters eligible to sign petition.
- 2. Must be submitted for verification before noon of the 28th day proceeding the first day of qualifying. For the 2016 elections, the petitions must be submitted as follows:
 - a. May 23, 2016 before noon.
- 3. There is a fee of 10 cents per petition for verifying signatures, which must be paid upon submission of petitions, or the candidate may file an undue burden oath to waive the cost of verification. If the candidate is unable to collect the required number of signatures, he or she may still pay the qualifying fee.

Candidates for offices listed below file candidacy and qualifying papers, as well as campaign treasurer reports, with the Florida Division of Elections, Room 316, R. A. Gray Building, 500 S. Bronough Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 245-6200.

State and District Offices

<u>Office</u> <u>Incumbent</u>

State Attorney (4 yr. term)

Public Defender (4 yr. term)

Bill Cervone

Stacy A. Scott

<u>Florida Legislature</u> (4 yr. term for Senate, 2 yr. term for House)

Office Incumbent

Senate, District 5 Charles "Charlie" Dean Sr. (R) House, District 22 Charlie Stone (R)

Federal Offices

President and Vice President (4 yr. term)

U. S. Congress

(6 yr. term for Senate, 2 yr. term for House of Representatives)

Office <u>Incumbent</u>

Senate Marco Rubio (R)
Bill Nelson (D)

House of Representatives, District 3 Ted Yoho (R)